A Meditation: On Deuteronomy 12:2 // Destroy Completely All … There Gods //

by Matheus Yuhlung

Destroy completely all the places on the high mountains, on the hills and under every spreading tree, where the nations you are dispossessing worship their gods” – Deuteronomy 12:2 (NIV)

An absolute abhorrence of the past habits followed my acceptance of Christ. It was hate, disgust and fear. The fear of being associated with my own past. It sounds absurd, but it is true.

I read somewhere that a person redeemed would have the same relationship with sin just as a man once burned has with fire: he’ll dread it. I quickly didn’t just quit my entertainment preferences, but I abandoned my old social life i.e. spending time with people whom I called friends. I’d be lying if I say I never had my moments of doubt. And, whenever I gave into it, thinking that I was just exaggerating it by keeping myself away from my past, I’d always find myself in the same sinful pit that Jesus Christ saved me from. But, by then, my conscience would have been hurt way worst then it was ever before. There is no way anyone can commit a sin and come out clean; because sin does not just break the law of our well being, it also breaks the very heart of the God who sustains us. We’re both physically and mentally wounded.

No man can serve two masters, says Matthew Chapter six verse twenty four. We can either be with God or offend Him by continuously living in sin; and this is what we’re doing if we don’t give up our past (sins).

Destroy completely all the places … where the nations you are dispossessing worship their gods:

The Christian new life is a life that is born from above (John 3:3). It’s a new life, it has no mark of resemblance with our old selves then why mar it by superimposing the old sinful stains on the new selves? Not that we can, but that does not mean we should.

Though, I don’t think a man can lose his salvation but a man who has received salvation won’t persist in sin either. But whatever the matter is, no man can claim to have been saved or not saved, as whether to grant salvation or not is purely based on the will of God; but then again, as the Apostle Peter wrote: shouldn’t we persist in making our salvation sure? (2 Peter 1:10)

Why tolerate a reminder to sin?

Charles John Ellicott wrote:

“(Canaanites’) objects of worship being left unmolested, … were (a) constant temptations to idolatry”

But why was there such a need to get rid of these things? Why couldn’t they just focus on Jehovah instead?

Jamieson Fausset Brown wrote:

“This divine command was founded on the tendencies of human nature; for to remove out of sight everything that had been associated with idolatry, that it might never be spoken of and no vestige of it remain, was the only effected way to keep the Israelites from temptations to it”

But the Israelites disobeyed and what happened next everyone knows.

God knows us more then we know ourselves. He is our creator, He has a greater understanding, when He asks us to get rid of things in our lives, it is because He knows we are weak and it’ll ensnare us.

We are God’s precious valuables:

Jesus is continuously contending for us to give us a good life; but for that there are things He needs us to move out from our lives, it can be people, habits, properties, job et cetera. But in Him I can have faith, believing that He is moving these things out so that He could embrace me from the weakest parts of my being and strengthened me by showing forth His strength in these.

So I pray, that God would give me enough strength to say Yes, if He was to ask me today as he did to Peter, do you love me more than these? (John 21:15)

Further Readings:

Colossians 3:5-7 (NIV)
Isaiah 30:22 (NIV)

Sources:

Bible Commentaries: studylight.org
Picture: en.wikipedia.org

