A Meditation: On 1 Corinthians 16:9 // A Great Door For Effective Work Has Opened For Me //

by Matheus Yuhlung

“because a great door for effective work has opened for me, and there are many who oppose me” – 1 Corinthians 16:9 (NIV)

Sounds something like a motivational speaker would say, right? But in truth its meaning is complete opposite to what our capitalist-sentiment-society wants us to understand. The phrase a great door for effective work has opened for me does not signify any profitable business venture; it rather signifies an opportunity to preach the gospel – an opportunity to light a flame in lives that are living in complete darkness.

The Pulpit Commentary writes it as:

A wide and promising opportunity for winning souls to God. The metaphor of “a door,” perhaps suggested by our Lord himself, was common among Christians (2Co_2:12; Col_4:3; Act_14:27; Rev_3:8).

Another interesting thing about this verse is the place to which it is addressed: Ephesus. According to the Sermon Bible Commentary:

“The door is great” by reason of the commanding position of Ephesus in Asia. To Ephesus, as the capital of the Roman province, and the centre of provincial life, there poured multitudes daily from every quarter of Asia. Hither Gentiles and Jews alike hastened continually on errands of business, religion, and pleasure. And the lecture room of Tyrannus welcomed all who came, whether attracted by curiosity or by love of the truth.

I picture the Apostle Paul standing right in the middle of Las Vegas, and yet he is not attracted by its alluring lights, but is wide awake to the needs of the people – their need for Christ. I wonder: could I do the same? If I could feel the same enthusiasm to share the word of God when I’m in a place like Ephesus; even when I know that the very fact that places like this makes it to be a very good ground for sowing the seed of the gospel, also means having a lot of people opposing me.

For now, I can only pray that the Good Lord would give me eyes to see the brokenness of people, and that he will light in my heart a fire that is so great that the only way I could contain it was to share it with people who are in need.

Picture Credit: ephesustoursguide.com

