A Meditation: On Leviticus 10:3 // And Aaron Held His Peace //

by Matheus Yuhlung

“Then Moses said to Aaron, “This is what the LORD has said: ‘Among those who are near me I will be sanctified, and before all the people I will be glorified.'” And Aaron held his peace” – Leviticus 10:3 (ESV)

There was a time when I held my fist up and cursed God. I was young and very angry. Now the very thought of it pushes me to my knees – thanking God for his mercies. I cannot even think or comprehend what emotional turbulences Aaron must have gone through when God burned his sons for trifling with the holy things.

God’s ways are truly higher and we could never comprehend nor should we question His sovereignty. Wisdom lies in holding our peace knowing He knows best even if we might be hurting the very moment.

I thank God for being patient with me. I thank God for not granting the desires of my hearts. When I look back I praise God more because of the prayers He never answered – if He had done I’d be in the worst of worst place right now. Repentance would have been harder. And the heartaches he made me bear to spare me from much bitter heartaches – I thank Him more. Because I know, even in those times He weep with me and bear with me – I was never alone.

Picture Credit: jacobcherians.blogspot.in

